Darren Criss To Take A Trip Down Memory Lane With DECAID Livestream Concert

Credit: Darren Criss

This week marked the 10 year anniversary of Darren Criss putting on the blazer and winning his way into Kurt Hummel’s and all of our hearts with his sweet, sweet rendition of Katy Perry’s hit “Teenage Dream”. It was the start of one whirlwind, wild ride for both Criss and his fans. A five season stint on Glee, one half of a cultural phenomenon TV couple, several Broadway stints, EPs, movies, sweeping an awards season and starting an annual festival that celebrates the stage and screen just touches on some of his achievements since then.

In true Criss fashion, he decided to celebrate the occasion by doing a livestream viewing of his episode – “Never Been Kissed” – sharing with fans behind-the-scenes stories of filming the episode, how he got on Glee and tidbits about the cast, crew and overall experience of being on the show. While this one hour special provided fans with new insights, it was just a teaser for a bigger event Criss has been working on for a while and is finally coming to fruition – DEC·AID.

DEC·AID – DEC for Criss’ initials Darren Everett Criss – is described as a “cozy at-home livestream concert for charity”. The show – taking place on Saturday 28 November (Sunday 29 November for Aussie and Kiwi fans) – will feature live performances, stories and never-seen-before content from his Glee days. And if you watched the “Never Been Kissed” livestream, you know that this will be a don’t-miss event for fans of Criss and Glee alike.

In addition, Criss has been clearing out his place and will be auctioning off some special items during the event.

Net proceeds from the livestream concert will support Teach for America, The Trevor Project and the United Nations Foundation’s COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund for the WHO, with more to be announced.

Tickets range in price from US$10 for access to the concert through to US$250 for a virtual meet and greet and special song serenaded to you during the livestream. Presale starts today (November 13) at 12pm PT / 3pm ET, with general sale beginning Tuesday November 17. Details and ticket information can be found at the DEC·AID site.

DEC·AID takes place on Looped on Saturday 28 November 1pm PST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT / 8am AEDT (Sun).

Clare Sidoti
Follow me
Advertisements