Andy Serkis To Go There And Back Again By Reading The Hobbit For Charity

Credit: Marvel Studios

Direct and actor Andy Serkis is going to read J.R.R. Tolkein for charity. Serkis, best known for his work as Gollum on the Lord of the Rings films, will read the whole of The Hobbit in a 12-hour sitting on livestream for coronavirus related charities.

On the stream’s GoFundMe, Serkis penned the following statement.

“So many of us are struggling in isolation during the lockdown. While times are tough, I want to take you on one of the greatest fantasy adventures ever written, a 12 hour armchair marathon across Middle Earth whilst raising money for two amazing charities which are doing extraordinary work right now to help those most in need in the UK: Best Beginnings  and NHS Charities Together.”

Andy Serkis is making us cry already, folks.

Serkis continued with the time and date of the reading, which will take place tomorrow (Friday, May 8th) at 10 am BST, which is 5am EST and 2 am PST. He plans on reading the entire The Hobbit cover to cover.

Serkis’ next project is Venom: Let There Be Carnage, which he is editing while in lockdown.

Bec Heim
Advertisements