Darren Criss Hosts Logo’s New Now Next Awards, Sam Smith and Natalie Dormer Among Winners

 Darren Criss Hosts Logo's New Now Next Awards, Sam Smith and Natalie Dormer Among Winners
Credit: Getty Images for Logo TV

Logo TV held its annual New Now Next Awards in Miami last night, the show which awards the hottest emerging stars of pop culture as well as recognising contributions of long standing favourites.

Hosted by Darren Criss, who looked sensational as always, the event saw live performances from Jessie J, Betty Who and Kristen Chenoweth among others.

Sam Smith took home the award for Best Singer- Male, which will no doubt please Darren Criss as he’s a huge fan and another of his favourites, A Great Big World, took home the award for Best New Music Group.

Betty Who was awarded for Best Singer- Female, with Natalie Dormer winning Best New Lead Film Actress for Mockingjay Part 1 and Ansel Elgort winning the male counterpart for his role in The Fault In Our Stars.

Looking was named Best New Television Series, with its star Jonathan Groff winning Best New Television Actor. Lorraine Toussaint won the award for Best New Television Actress for Orange is The New Black.

Darren Criss supposedly overslept, almost missed his call time and had to be mock roused from his slumber by the show’s narrator Cyndi Lauper, and was still pulling on his clothes as he ran onto the stage. The awards were handed out by Ellen DeGeneres’ Nick the Gardener- real name Billy Reillch, who made everyone’s night by just wearing a pair of Speedos.

Logo TV's 2014 NewNowNext Awards - Show
Credit: Getty Images for Logo TV

Kristen Chenoweth was the recipient of the New Now Next Forever award, presented to her by a humbled Darren Criss who has worked with her on Glee, and the musical star wowed the audience with her stunning rendition of “Maybe This Time” from Cabaret, for which she garnered a standing ovation from the audience.

The Logo TV 2014 New Now Next Awards will air this Sunday, December 7th at 8pm ET/PT on Logo TV but if you can’t wait until then, a full list of winners can be seen below.

Best New Television Series:

Best New Television Actor:
Jonathan Groff, Looking

Best New Television Actress:
Lorraine Toussaint, Orange is the New Black

Best New Television Personality:
Bianca Del Rio, RuPaul’s Drag Race

Best Motion Picture By a New Filmmaker:
Dear White People, Justin Simien

Best New Screenwriter:
Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl

Best New Lead Film Actor
Ansel Elgort, The Fault In Our Stars

Best New Lead Film Actress
Natalie Dormer, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

Best New Musician (Male)
Sam Smith

Best New Musician (Female)
Betty Who

Best New Music Group
A Great Big World

Best New Broadway Production (Musical)
Hedwig And The Angry Inch

Best New Broadway Production (Play)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best New Broadway Lead Actor
Alexander Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best New Broadway Lead Actress
Sophie Okonedo, A Raisin in The Sun

Best New Fashion Designer

Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Best New Author (Fiction)
Mira Jacob, The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing

Best New Art Exhibition

Kara Walker, A Subtlety

Social Influencers:
Best New Social Influencer (Male):
Troye Sivan, YouTube: Troye Sivan

Best New Social Influencer (Female):
Brittany Furlan, Vine: Brittany Furlan