The Nominees Are In For The 30th Annual TV Critics Association Awards

Photo: HBO
Photo: HBO

The nominations have been announced for the 2014 Television Critics Association Awards, and True Detective leads the pack with four nominations. The Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson hit is closely followed by The Good Wife and Breaking Bad, who are up for three awards each.

First time nominees include Martin Freeman’s Fargo, Netflix original series Orange Is The New Black and RuPaul’s Drag Race, with Ryan Murphy’s American Horror Story: Coven and British drama Broadchurch also looking to take home a prize on the night.

Six of the thirteen categories feature the 2013 winners of their award, and Game Of Thrones, The Big Bang Theory and Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black), will be looking to defend their crowns, amongst others. The hotly contested ‘Program of the Year’ honour will see last year’s winners Breaking Bad face-off against Game Of Thrones, The Good Wife, Orange Is The New Black and True Detective in what is sure to be a very close race to the finish.

The TV Critics Association is made up of TV reporters, columnists, critics and bloggers, and they will reveal their winners for the 2013/14 season in a presentation at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on July 19, 2014.


Make sure to check out the full list of nominees below!


(* denotes 2013 winner in the category).


Program of the Year
*Breaking Bad (AMC)
Game of Thrones (HBO)
The Good Wife (CBS)
Orange Is the New Black (Netflix)
True Detective (HBO)


Outstanding Achievement in Comedy
*The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox)
Louie (FX)
The Mindy Project (Fox)
Veep (HBO)


Individual Achievement in Comedy
*Louis C.K., Louie (FX)
Mindy Kaling, The Mindy Project (Fox)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep (HBO)
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation (NBC)


Outstanding Achievement in Drama
The Americans (FX)
Breaking Bad (AMC)
*Game of Thrones (HBO)
House of Cards (Netflix)
The Good Wife (CBS)


Individual Achievement in Drama
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad (AMC)
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife (CBS)
*Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black (BBC America)
Matthew McConaughey, True Detective (HBO)
Matthew Rhys, The Americans (FX)


Outstanding Achievement in News and Information
CBS Sunday Morning (CBS)
Cosmos (Fox)
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (Comedy Central)
Frontline (PBS)
60 Minutes (CBS)


Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming
The Amazing Race (CBS)
RuPaul’s Drag Race (Logo)
*Shark Tank (ABC)
Survivor (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)


Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming
Adventure Time (Cartoon Network)
Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood (PBS)
The Fosters (ABC Family)
Sesame Street (PBS)
Switched at Birth (ABC Family)


Outstanding New Program
Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox)
Fargo (FX)
Orange Is the New Black (Netflix)
Sleepy Hollow (Fox)
True Detective (HBO)


Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials
American Horror Story: Coven (FX)
Broadchurch (BBC America)
Fargo (FX)
The Returned (SundanceTV)
True Detective (HBO)


Career Achievement Award
Mark Burnett
James Burrows
Valerie Harper
Jay Leno
William Shatner


Heritage Award
Lost (ABC)
Saturday Night Live (NBC)
South Park (Comedy Central)
Star Trek (NBC)
Twin Peaks (ABC)